For a better experience on RF Group, update your browser

10 Local Educators Inducted into the RF NDTA Hall of Fame

  • July 9, 2021
  • General
10 Local Educators Inducted into the RF NDTA Hall of Fame

(Barbados): RF Merchant Bank & Trust (Barbados) Limited (“RF”), recently announced the winners of the 2020 RF National Distinguished Teachers Award (RFNDTA). The winners were selected for their outstanding contributions to education and represent various academic levels, from nursery schools to tertiary institutions.

Addressing the winners at the recent RFNDTA awards ceremony, Lamar Goring, RF Brokerage Manager, commended the teachers for their unwavering commitment to their students despite the unprecedented challenges of the 2020-2021 academic year. “Despite the chaos of COVID 19, and lately, volcanic ash, educators like you are proof that the future our nation’s youth is secure. Not only have you all risen to the occasion and taken the bull of virtual learning by the horns, but you have gone above and beyond the call of duty to help your students, their parents, your colleagues, and the wider community navigate through this new normal.”

Also offering congratulatory comments was Senator Dr. Romel Springer from the Ministry of Education Technological and Vocational Training. He not only commended the winning teachers for their significant and positive contributions, but also to RF for recognizing over 100 outstanding local teachers through the awards program. He noted that “we must pause to reflect on the magnitude of the contributions of teachers within the context of the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic”.

The 10 teachers were shortlisted based on nominations from students, parents and other members of the community. The top ten were then selected by a ‘Blue Ribbon’ Judging Panel comprised of retired educators. The winners were officially announced at a virtual awards ceremony held on Thursday July 8, 2021. They are:

Angel Birch - Eden Lodge Nursery School

Gemell Gale - St. Giles Nursery

Keisha Barker - Ellerton Primary School

Nakita Prescott-Johnson – Ellerton Primary School

Fiona Collucci - St. Matthews Primary School

Lisa Eversley – Queen’s College

Sonia St. Hill - The Lodge School

Trudi N. Harris – Charles F. Broome Special Unit

Allyson Murray - Grantley Adams Memorial School

Adrian Patrick Stoute - Samuel Jackman Prescod Institute of Technology

The awardees each received a commemorative trophy and $1,500. The will also be featured on the RFNDTA Hall of Fame on RF’s website.

For more information on RFNDTA, visit

Not sure where to start? One of our experts can help you!

Let's Talk
* Denotes Required Inputs
  • ABV Investments Incorporated ABV  + 0.01
  • Banks Holdings Limited BHL  + 4.85
  • Barbados Dairy Industries Limited BDI  + 3.00
  • Barbados Farms Limited BFL  + 0.40
  • BICO Limited BCO  + 3.11
  • Cave Shepherd and Company Limited CSP  + 4.20
  • Emera Deposit Receipt EMABDR  + 23.88
  • Eppley Caribbean Property Fund SCC - Dev Fund CPFD  + 0.16
  • Eppley Caribbean Property Fund SCC - Value Fund CPFV  + 0.56
  • FirstCaribbean International Bank FCI  + 1.70
  • Goddard Enterprises Limited GEL  + 2.10
  • Insurance Corporation of Barbados Limited ICBL  + 1.78
  • One Caribbean Media Limited OCM  + 2.20
  • West India Biscuit Company Limited WIB  + 31.25